Atlanta City Council to consider legislation to assist individuals seeking shelter at Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport

Atlanta City Council
3 min readDec 1, 2023
District 10 Atlanta City Council member Andrea L. Boone

ATLANTA — On Monday, the Atlanta City Council will consider a resolution urging the General Manager of the Hartsfield-Atlanta International Airport to implement a plan to aid and provide support services for unhoused individuals seeking shelter at the airport, including entering an emergency procurement agreement with a qualified service provider to provide outreach and identify the need for specific services (23-R-4547).

Other items on the agenda include:
• An ordinance for the issuance and sale by the City of Atlanta of its tax allocation variable rate bonds in the aggregate principal amount of $33 million to finance a portion of the redevelopment costs related to specific projects within the Eastside Tax Allocation District (23-O-1647).

• An ordinance authorizing the Chief Financial Officer to amend the Mayor’s Office of International and Immigrant Affairs FY 2023 Intergovernmental Grant Fund budget by adding $83,000 in Victims of Crime Act grant award funding received from the Georgia Criminal Justice Coordinating Council (23-O-1646).

• An ordinance to place a historical marker in Isabel Gates Webster Park to memorialize the exceptional achievements of Isabella Gates Webster. Webster is recognized as one of the first African-American women attorneys in Atlanta and later became an Atlanta Municipal Court Judge. In 1993, the Atlanta City Council renamed Peyton Forest Park to Isabel Gates Webster Park in her honor (23-O-1649).

• A resolution authorizing the City to apply for and accept a $100,000 Community Placemaking Grant from the Project for Public Spaces to create a signage pilot program identifying significant African-American history on city-owned property (23-R-4549).

• A resolution authorizing a donation of $2 million to Project Hope, Inc. to provide financial literacy and entrepreneurial education for Atlanta youth (23-R-4565).

• An ordinance ratifying the City’s submission of a Resilient Community Impact Funds grant from the Resilient Cities Network and authorizing acceptance of a $53,000 grant award. The funding is designated to support the collaboration with The Center for Urban Research in developing a Thriving Neighborhood Index to enhance community resilience (23-O-1662).

The City Council will present proclamations and recognitions in honor of singer Dolores “Dee Dee” Kenniebrew of The Crystals, Shema Fulton, William “Bill” Stanley, III, and Ivenue Love-Stanley.

The Council’s Committee Chairs briefing will be held in person during the week of the full Council at 9:30 a.m. in the Council Chamber.

The Committee on Council will convene in Committee Room №1 at 11 a.m. before Monday’s full Council meeting.

The full Council meeting will be held in person at 1 p.m. in the Council Chamber at City Hall. All meetings will be conducted under the City of Atlanta’s Charter, City Code of Ordinances, and the rules of Council as adopted for in-person meetings. In-person public comment procedures will be held as previously conducted and adopted by the Council following City Charter Sections 2–104 and 2–105.

The meeting will be simulcast on the Council’s website, YouTube channel, Facebook and X (formerly Twitter) pages, and Channel 26. Closed captioning will be available on the Council’s Facebook page.

About Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The Council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has the final vote on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include Council President: Doug Shipman; District 1: Jason Winston; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Byron Amos; District 4: Jason S. Dozier; District 5: Liliana Bakhtiari; District 6: Alex Wan; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: Mary Norwood; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Antonio Lewis; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Keisha Sean Waites.